Feeling the Pressure

I am all about consistency. Predictability. Staying the course.

Wait. Let me start over.

Until this morning, I was perfectly comfortable ignoring this blog for at least another 4 months, since I was well within one standard deviation (S.D. 251) of the mean of the number of days between posts (~127 days).

And then I received this message today: “_____ just started following you at https://ktme.wordpress.com. They will receive an email every time you publish a post. Congratulations.”

“Congratulations.” Really? Do you realize how much pressure this places on me? Congratulations?! Crap.

It’s not that I don’t want followers or this follower in particular. Quite the opposite. I really respect the person who has decided to follow this blog, not to mention the work the person creates. Poetry, wonderful poetry. Poetry from Iowa, no less.

But I don’t want to disappoint anyone, or at least anyone else. And certainly not a follower. So I will do my part by posting again. Soon. As within one standard deviation above the mean.

Leave a Reply

